Any change initiative needs to have a clear vision of what the future environment will look like – if not, the change or transformation from the ‘as is’ to the ‘desired’ state is doomed.

In my experience with two global Organizations that implemented very transformative change strategies, way back in the 90’s, the only way to deal with resistance to change is to understand the Kübler-Ross model of the emotional stages experienced by survivors faced with imminent death:  the five stages are Denial, Anger, Negotiation, Depression and Acceptance.

I learned that when faced with dramatic, significant change, Organizations, Teams and Employees at every level of the organization need to learn how to deal with the 5 stages.

Consistent communication, a clear Vision of the ‘Desired’ state and a Change Program that recognizes that the rate of change cannot be faster than the human resources or automation can keep up with – is fundamental to the success of any truly transformative Change Initiative.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s